Roast Magazine's



Roast announces the recipients of its 2020 Roaster of the Year awards!
View the official press release

Mostra Coffee
2020 Winner • Micro Category

Coffee By Design
2020 Winner • Macro Category


Roast magazine is proud to announce the next competition for 2021 Roaster of the Year.

Click the promo graphic below to see a larger version.

My Image

The competition has TWO categories and TWO winners:

Micro Roaster Category
Roasters who roast less than 100,000 lbs per year

Large Roaster Category
Roasters who roast more than 100,000 lbs per year

Roast magazine’s Roaster of the Year competition recognizes the top roasters in the country. The competition begins with a written questionnaire covering topics range from company mission statement, sustainable/employee practices to commitment to the industry.

From the written applications three finalists are chosen from two categories, roasting less than 100,000 lbs. per year and roasting more than 100,000 lbs. year. The finalists are required to send in 3 lbs. of roasted coffees. The coffees are cupped and scored. The cupping scores and the written scores are combined.

The company with the most points is crowned our Roaster of the Year. The competition is fierce and draws applications from every part of the country. Could you be our next Roaster of the Year?


Don't delay, download and submit an application today

2021 Roaster of the Year Application
Micro Roaster Category (Roasters who Roast LESS THAN 100,000 lbs)

2021 Roaster of the Year Application
Large Roaster Category (Roasters who Roast MORE THAN 100,000 lbs)

Roaster of the Year applications must arrive on or before July 27, 2020


Criteria and Award Package

Roast magazine developed this award to help inspire further excellence and success in the roasting industry.
The Roaster of the Year will be chosen based on the following criteria (for both categories):
• Company Mission
• Company’s Commitment to Sustainable Practices
• Commitment to Employees and Educational Practices
• Quality of Coffee
• Commitment to and involvement in the industry
• Innovations in roasting, marketing and business practices
The Roaster of the Year award package includes:
• A full-length feature story in the November | December 2020 issue of Roast magazine
• $500
• A web page on the Roast magazine website for an entire year

Contest Rules

Three finalists will be chosen based on the criteria above. Contestants will be notified if they are chosen as finalists. At that time, each finalist will be asked to submit three different one-pound roasted coffee samples. Coffees will be judged on aroma, color, imperfections, bean size and a clean cup. Coffees will be blindly judged by a professional coffee cupper.

Deadline for submissions is July 27, 2020. Winner of the Roaster of the Year award will be announced in the Nov/Dec 2020 issue of Roast magazine. The winner will receive notice of award no later than August 31, 2020. The Roaster of the Year will be presented to a company and not an individual. All entries become the property of Roast magazine and will not be returned to applicant. Entries are judged by Roast magazine employees and Roast magazine representatives. Decisions of the judges are final. All scores are confidential and undisclosed. Applicants can either be a wholesale roaster or roaster/retailer. Applicants must roast their own coffee. By entering this competition you give permission to Roast magazine to publish your name and likeness in association with this competition and the promotion of this contest.

Past Roaster of the Year Winners

2005 winner—Counter Culture Coffee
2005 runnerup—Taylor Maid Farms

2006 winner—Stumptown Coffee Roasters
2006 runnerup—Intelligentsia Coffee and Tea
2006 runnerup—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2007 winner—Micro—Metropolis Coffee Co.
2007 winner—Macro—Intelligentsia

2008 winner—Micro—Higher Ground Roasters
2008 winner—Macro—Zoka Coffee Roasters

2009 winner—Micro—Coffee Klatch
2009 winner—Macro—PT's Coffee Roasting Co.

2010 winner—Micro—Kickapoo Coffee
2010 winner—Macro—Equator Estates Coffee

2011 winner—Micro—Conscious Coffees
2011 winner—Macro—Dillanos Coffee Roasters

2012 winner—Micro—Bird Rock Coffee Roasters
2012 winner—Macro—Portland Coffee Roasting

2013 winner—Micro—Olympia Coffee Roasting Company
2013 winner—Macro–Gimme! Coffee

2014 winner—Micro—Pilot Coffee Roasters
2014 winner—Macro—Coda Coffee Company

2015 winner—Micro—Portola Coffee Lab
2015 winner—Macro—Reunion Island Coffee Roasters

2016 winner—Micro—Propeller Coffee Co
2016 winner—Macro—Crimson Cup Coffee & Tea

2017 winner—Micro—Mudhouse Coffee Roasters
2017 winner—Macro—Thanksgiving Coffee Company

2018 winner—Micro—Amavida Coffee Roasters
2018 winner—Macro—Oughtred Coffee & Tea

2019 winner—Micro—Dragonfly Coffee Roasters
2019 winner—Macro—Peerless Coffee & Tea

2020 winner—Micro—Mostra Coffee
2020 winner—Macro—Coffee By Design

Stacks Image p3246_n41

Stacks Image p3246_n6

Stacks Image p3246_n39


Stacks Image p3246_n43

Stacks Image p3246_n25

© 2019 Roast Magazine | 1631 NE Broadway, Portland, Oregon 97232